“The Image I See”


The Image I See

I look at a form in the mirror,

Cheval glass,

I behold the semblance,

Just because I do,

May mean quite nothing,

This I say and express,

This I share with you too,

Sometimes when I peer

at what appears reflected and

projected,

I see the most awesome image,

The best,

That fills me with such happiness,

That makes me full of joy,

That makes me giggle,

Like when you buy something

that makes you happy,

And it is of worth, value, precious, rare,

And it is of truth,

I surely, surely do,

But what do you do when the

Image appears void,

Glaring as if being hidden behind the

deepest gray cloud,

Almost out of view,

What should you do if the weight of the

load that you are carrying gives

you an obscure view,

Darkness that is the deepest black,

Not giving light,

So that the image beheld is

Diminutive,

Stunted,

a minscule view,

What if the effigy seen is a facade,

One formulated,

Contrived,

A replication,

One that you gladly give accolades too,

But however,

This mental grasp,

Interpretation,

Perception,

Conjecture and illusion of view,

This image only exist with you,

Well,

The bible deals with having the

right image of one’s self,

Within this wisdom lys the keys to

a true self image,

The essence of attitudes,

The essence to a flourishing,

proper view of self and life,

The trueness of the real self,

The image that you should behold as God does and adoringly views,

Genesis 1:27 ESV / 117 helpful votes

So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he

created them.

Genesis 1:31 Kjv

31And God saw ever thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good. And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.

1 Corinthians 3:16 ESV / 46 helpful votes

Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?

1 Peter 3:3-4 ESV / 242 helpful votes

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.

Psalm 139:13-16 ESV / 109 helpful votes

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden  from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

Although I may not possess striking

physical features of beauty,

This, I have found does not clearly reflect

all that is in the mirror,

All that I and others view,

Physical beauty is adoring,

But complete beauty is more than

what can be beheld in a glance or

two,

God ended with all that I made was good,

Wonderful,

Therefore,

Lack of confidence in self is tossed out,

Just remember if the image is not good,

It was from the beginning,

The embodiment of God himself,

And,

God can fix it all with His Holy word,

God will irradiate the useless image and

bring to fruition, a breviloquent image

that is gleaming and glowing with

transparent beauty,

Inside and out.

Author Thelma Cunningham

www.authorthelmacunningham.com

33 thoughts on ““The Image I See”

  1. You have a lovely page, and elegant words that provoke the minds eye, looking deeply in the mirror and seeing all that is within to be all that you need to be, realizing that all that is needed is already there within, to be more than you ever imagined! blessings on the wind to you and yours. thank you for following !

  2. “I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made” I like that line. I find saying it’s a litmus for how I’m feeling about myself. Am I really believing that God is worthy of praise for how he made me?

  3. He is the reason . . . love your ending lines about the beauty inside and out and how He completes it.
    Thank you also for your visit. You are appreciated.
    Abundant blessings!

  4. An Image Unseen?

    Today I met a lass from far away
    Her mind a blazing sun
    Her curls dance the sky delight
    Or is there really none?

    The Ethernet plays silly tricks
    Its cruel game brings great trepidation
    Perhaps she’s real, perhaps she’s not
    It could be my imagination.

    Her eyes are chocolate
    Her skin a golden brown
    Or am I fooled by the phosphorous glow
    Dancing before me without a sound?

    I’ll never know unless I reveal
    My heart’s yearning toward the sky blue
    She’ll never know lest I say
    My Dear, I love you!

  5. so beatiful and strog this post…the colourful image…the joy…in Jesus joy I get my protection…the salm 37:5, I give my way to Lord, I trust in him and all He will do…this is real for me…tomorrow I go to the church service…the chrystian way is radical…is my way…Jesus is real for me…you know what about I write…faith…confidence…besides the mirror…love… Thelma, a so sweet and strong post…thanks for sharing…you are a good person…I feel you a friend

  6. “Gleaming and glowing with transparent image”–I really love the words you chose here to show us the utterly lovely image God makes for each of us–if we only allow it to shine through!

Leave a Reply

