“The Hoodie”


The Hoodie

You are soft and covering,

As I move, you provide,

Warmth,

Protection,

Style,

Privacy,

Covering,

Yes! Some have been infamous

under  you,

That is true,

But,

not the majority I say,

No!  Not the majority at all.

One way direction,

Forward, I press,

Sometimes simply breezing by the things I pass,

Destination without procrastination,

Snuggled under so tightly as I walk,

Run,

Stroll,

To cold to do without you,

Bold enough to speak about you,

You are worn in different styles from

culture to culture by any human,

This includes,

Youngins, woman, men,

How is it that for only one culture you

represent only danger, only sin?

Couldn’t that sin apply to most anyone?

It is the behavior associated with it when done

that fuels the fear,

But,

Know that it is true for any culture, any time,

and anywhere.

And

Understand that this is

not the only selected choice and gear,

Folks do what they plan in the face that smiles ,

With no covering at all,

Without any regard, respect, repentance or fear.

Author Thelma Cunningham

32 thoughts on ““The Hoodie”

  1. I enjoyed this ode to the hoodie. It’s been my favorite piece of clothing for the longest time, but I can understand why it has such a bad rap. You see enough videos of gas station robberies and other violent crimes, people of all colors are typically wearing it with the dark glasses. Is this why Trayvon was shot? I think we all know better than that, as you’re expressing here.
    Racism isn’t a black and white issue as it has been portrayed in the media to elicit the kind of binary public opinion that gets ratings. It takes writers, speakers, and thinkers to break down prepackaged opinions we are expected to buy, but it’s encouraging to see people acting to press for justice. I have more to say about this issue which I’ll put up in about a week, but I appreciate your style of writing.

    • I agree with you when you say the hoodie was not the reason Trayvon was murdered. There are more questions than answers. For example: How far away from Trayvon was Zimmerman when he first spotted Trayvon. How did he know Trayvon was black? And I could go on. It seems to me Zimmerman was trailing Trayvon from he left the store.

      • Hello! The question goes back to who do we choose to care about. Do we stop to see what is going on or do we rush to judgement which brings on other circumstances that have now brought the situation to where you think an in dividual means nothing until you choose to pursue. He should of stopped and said let me see what is going on and then report. Rush to judgement. We all like to think we aren’t bias or cruel. Yet, your behavior will tell you just what is inside of you. That is why we need a Savior who tells us who we are and the heals our pitiful, hell bound state.

      • Hello! The question goes back to who do we choose to care about. Do we stop to see what is going on or do we rush to judgement which brings on other circumstances that have now brought the situation to where you think an in dividual means nothing until you choose to pursue. He should of stopped and said let me see what is going on and then report. Rush to judgement. We all like to think we aren’t bias or cruel. Yet, your behavior will tell you just what is inside of you. That is why we need a Savior who tells us who we are and the heals our pitiful, hell bound state.

  2. Very nice, Thelma! I enjoyed your poem.

    I remember the first “hoodies” in the 1970’s. That was in London, England. They were very inexpensive cotton goods; from mainly Japan and Malaysia, then. Japan, too had an energetic textiles industry. Like Hong Kong, before, it had a reputation for cheap shoddy goods.

    I’m not sure if you can find them in early Bruce Lee films? Usually films, movies would show thugs in hoodies. They often still do. I suppose it’s unfair to use certain articles of clothing as “declarers of intent”? Yet the industry of film or video, still uses stereotypes to paint their picture. Unfortunately some personality types have a hard time disassociating from these images. It seems to me, anyway? It is a good reason to avoid movies.

    BTW. I still wear a hoodie, for my walks. I do not think I can, or any other person can; characterize somebody for doing so? …. peace, out!!

  3. A much-needed reminder, very well-written, not to judge a book by its cover. We must remember that Scripture tells us the AntiChrist will be quite beautiful, quite handsome, quite pleasing to the eye!

  4. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award Pt. II « disfuctionalunit

  5. Enjoyed this post on the hoodie. One of my favorite clothing items because of it’s comfort. We need to take this piece of clothing out of the political stream and focus on healing violence itself.

    Also, thanks for the follow. Following back! 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for following my poetry blog, Thelma. It’s a treat to be led back here to your blog and discover your impressive hoodie poem–so insightful and thought-provoking. Cheers to you!

Leave a Reply

